About us

PEPperPRINT was founded in 2001 by Frank Breitling and Ralf Bischoff as IP platform and spin-off of the German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ) in Heidelberg, Germany. In 2002, Volker Stadler and Frieder Breitling joined PEPperPRINT to finally collect a group of experts from different research fields like physics, chemistry, engineering and biology. Just starting from an idea in the research group “Chip-based Peptide Libraries” of Prof. Dr. Harald zur Hausen (Nobel Prize laureate), the multidisciplinary team then developed PEPperPRINT's proprietary platform technology: 

The combinatorial synthesis of high-density peptide microarrays by means of amino acid toner particles and a custom 24 color laser printer (published in Science 2007).

Consequently, PEPperPRINT was awarded with the German Science Stifter Prize for their groundbreaking work. PEPperPRINT's uniquely fast and robust technology is protected by a strong patent family. Due to the completely new combinatorial approach, PEPperPRINT was provided with a substantial freedom-to-operate.

In 2010, the company was awarded with the Innovation Award of German Industry and received a Series A funding by High-Tech Gründerfonds. PEPperPRINT became operative in April 2010 with Volker Stadler as CEO and Ralf Bischoff as CSO.  The production was launched in early 2011 based on the second generation peptide laser printer manufactured by Fraunhofer IPA and KMS Automation.

Shortly after, the PEPperCHIP® Peptide Microarray platform was complemented by PEPperMAP® Epitope Mapping and Serum Profiling Services. Over the years, PEPperPRINT has added additional products and services to its portfolio such as off-the-shelf PEPperCHIP® Standard Peptide Microarray for autoimmune- and infectious disease, allergy and immuno-oncology research, synthetic peptides and substitution scan analysis services.

Now, scientists and researchers around the world from academia, biotech- and pharmaceutical industry are benefiting from PEPperPRINT high quality products and services ensured by ISO 9001:2015 quality management.

Our Team

Management Board

Dr. Volker Stadler


Dr. Ralf Bischoff


Executive Team

Dr. Thomas Felgenhauer

Head of Production & Quality Management

Dr. Kirsten Heiss

Head of Research & Development

Dr. Oda Stoevesandt

Head of Services

Dr. Thorsten Zacher

Head of Sales

Dr. Fiordiligie Casilag

Head of Marketing & Science Communications

Sales and Business Development

Dr. Carsten Haber

Business Development USA

Dr. Marc Botcherby

Business Development UK

Dr. Pedro Simonini

Business Development South America

Niall Duxbury

Business Development UK

Alok Patel M.Sc.

Business Development India

Ed Koster

Business Development BENELUX

Scientific Advisory Board

Prof. Dr. med. Hanns-Martin Lorenz

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Stephan Urban

Investors and Founders

Friends and Partners

PEPperPRINT in the Media

See more articles in the News section.


Newsletter September 2022

Learn More


Join us at the 24th ESCV Conference in Manchester from September 7-10

Learn More


Newsletter May 2022

Learn More


Newsletter March 2022

Learn More


Newsletter February 2022

Learn More


PEPperPRINT GmbH partners with Lucerna-Chem

Learn More

Careers at PEPperPRINT

See all open postions at our Careers page.